Everyone needs a love tap now and then

…and it may just be good for what ails you.

Floating World

Posted by Týr on August 30, 2007

So this past weekend was Floating World, and like Maja would say, it was a life-changing experience. In some way have I never felt quite so comfortable with who I am as I did there. But why did I feel so comfortable there? I can’t say that I learned something that blew my mind away. I didn’t meet anyone who swept me off my feet (well, literally speaking). Does this mean that kink is a bigger part of my life than I had thought? I think I shall save that thought for a later date.

So the first day there, while watching Jefferson‘s presentation about the G- and P-spot we met two other young-folk like ourselves, Switch and Boy with whom our entire group of friends hit it off, but Maja and I most of all. They are fantastic and funny and awesome. Sadly, we only found out then that they lived in upper Manhattan the entire summer and we didn’t know about them. Hell, they were even at Folson Street East but we somehow didn’t get to know each other then. Enough with the rant about not having gotten to know them sooner.

Since they are both “rope geeks” and were more than happy to practice their talents, they ended up suspending Maja, May, and myself. Maja absolutely loved it, as did May. My experience was a little less pleasant, not because of anything that Switch, Boy, or Dov (who was helping our new friends) did wrong, but because my body simply decided that it didn’t want to be part of such a new experience and decided to clench up every muscle that I have. To the extent that I was sore the next day. That being said, I’d love to do it again. It’s one of those weird experiences that in retrospect is awesome, but at the time was not entirely enjoyable.

Out of the blue on Saturday, Eileen came up to Maja and I and told us that she wanted to do a take-down with Maymay and that’s all she knew. I immediately offered her the use of my spandex hood for the scene, which she very gladly accepted. Luckily I packed it that day. Come 12 hours later, Maymay gets abducted and beaten pretty much as planned. While I’d try to describe it, Maja and myself fairly soon peeled off and did our own scene while Maymay was still being taken care of, so I’d suggest you try reading Eileen’s account of it.

Sadly, the rest of the weekend is kind of a blut-of-awesome. Not a moment of boredom, of ennui. Just all this stuff going on around me, all of it awesome. I can’t wait for next year.

2 Responses to “Floating World”

  1. Jefferson said

    Thanks for the link. I’m glad it brought me to you.

  2. Dov said

    Cool yeah first times with that stuff are always a hit or miss some people just go flying and other need the time to acclimate, process and realize where they need to go. All good in the end, was fun helping you get there.

Leave a Reply

 
